More than once, I have had loved ones on ventilators. It is not an easy thing. Sometimes doctors will tell the family  there is no hope. In some cases there is not, and in other cases, God proves the doctor wrong. Such as in my mother’s case. We were once told to, “go home and make arrangements.”  Funeral arrangements, that is. We all went home devasted, each praying in our own way for God to have mercy. I had a prayer meeting that night and brothers and sisters in the Lord braved a winter storm and came to my house to pray. Nothing changed. No improvement. Until that one day. I was at the hospital early in the morning so I could catch the doctor and talk to him. A friend had come up to sit with me. I got upset seeing my mother like that day after day. I walked out of the room and then had to leave the hospital. I walked home in the snow. Not a long walk, but long enough to calm down.

No sooner had I walked in the door, when my friend called me to tell me the doctor had come in and said Mom was improving.

God was merciful and brought my mother back home to us a few days later.

My family and I did not allow doctors to take her off the ventilator, even when they told us there was no hope. We clung to a hope none of us could explain.

But what about the case below? A 28 year old woman lays with brain cancer, begging to let her parents let her die. Her parents refuse saying it is suicide to let her die. Really? Suicide? I don’t think so.

When government healthcare takes over, we all may  be looking at these kind of scenarios. As Christians do we force our beliefs on a loved one? What if that loved one is a Christian? Should we not allow them to make that choice themself, if they are able? What if they are lost and we just are not sure where they stand with God? Then what?

Most of us would cling to life if we were not sure where a loved one would spend eternity. We want that one last time to tell them the Gospel, that one last time to present truth to them in such a way where we hope they choose Jesus as Savior. Yet, how can any of us be for certain of who goes where when they leave this earth? Only God knows. Still, we desire to see that none of them perish, but come to everlasting life through Jesus, THE Lord and Savior of all mankind.

Yes, I do believe we will be forced to face these kind of things down the road. My personal thought: it is wrong to force someone into living in such a way if they choose differently. It does not mean I would help them with suicide: I would never hand anyone a gun or a bottle of pills and tell them to end their life. However, if that person made it clear to me, they were ready to leave this earth, then I would let them go. Yes, let them go. Sometimes, that is the correct way of looking at death. Sooner or later we have to let go. We have to be willing to trust God. If my loved one is able to tell me they are tired, having fought the good fight as well as possible, I have to believe that. I have to let them go. If my loved one is able to tell me they want to live, then I will do everything in my power to see they live. If they are not able to tell me one thing or another, then I will choose life and put my hope in God. Where else can I go?

Article gotten here:

http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/queens/paralyzed-terminally-ill-patient-fight-death-article-1.1174383#ixzz28MMF4RZD

UPDATE: Grace Sung Eun Lee has now changed her mind and wants to live.

My thoughts in green

She is paralyzed from the neck down, tethered to breathing and feeding tubes — but Manhattan bank manager Grace Sung Eun Lee still managed to mouth four words Wednesday.

“I want to die.”

Doctors are trying to honor Lee’s wish, but her devout parents believe that removing the tubes is suicide — a sin that would condemn the 28-year-old to hell.

I believe this is wrong. To believe it is always God’s will to force one to be hooked up on tubes or you will go to hell, is wrong. It makes God look like a sadistic monster. His word says, “My grace is sufficient.” That would include being off life support as well as on, if one chose.

They’ve gone to court to keep the terminally ill brain-cancer patient on life support, turning a heartbreaking family tragedy into a right-to-die legal battle.

The case has put medical ethics and religion on a collision course, with lawyers arguing in two courtrooms while the patient at the center of the fight can do little more than blink her eyes.

“The thought of her dying, my heart tremors, everything goes black,” Grace’s father, prominent Queens pastor the Rev. Manho Lee, pleaded to a judge.

Her mother, Jin-ah Lee, does not believe her always dutiful daughter has given up on life — or that her death is inevitable.

“Despite all this confusion, she wants to go to heaven,” she told the Daily News. “I keep telling her she can get better. God’s going to save you.”

It is easy for someone else to say these kind of things when they are not the one suffering.

The congregation at Antioch Missionary Church is praying for Grace, who mentored young people. The day after the Korea Times wrote about the case, a Korean church group took out an ad that declared: “Giving up life is not the will of God.”

I must say, I find this statement arrogant. Once again, so easy to say if you are not the one suffering. There does come a time when God calls us home. Some are taken in a flash. Others are given time. When/if it looks hopeless, who is to tell anyone who is suffering in such a way, to hang on? IF you have reached the end where all you have to depend upon is medical equipment, then perhaps, perhaps that is God telling that person He has done all He is going to do in that particular situation. Is it so wrong for a person to want to let go? Something to think about.

Lee’s Korean immigrant parents say she is depressed and not in her right mind.

“We believe that our daughter is really heavily medicated and unable to make her own decisions,” her father said Wednesday.

No doubt, this does happen many times. Doctors keep patients drugged up and then a family member has to be able to discern what is going on. As loving family members, we have to be aware of this and we can not allow the effect of drugs to dictate the actions of our loved one. I suggest if there comes tiome where you are faced with this, first try and get your loved one off any mind-altering drug before you go along with any decision. 

But her doctors at Long Island’s North Shore Hospital say she’s competent and has made her wishes clear.

“She is very tearful when she thinks about dying, but she consistently asks that the breathing tube be removed and she begs us to do that,” Dr. Dana Lustbader, chief of palliative medicine at North Shore, testified at an emergency hearing last week.

Before last fall, Lee was a vibrant young woman who came here from Seoul as an eighth-grader and graduated from the University of North Carolina.

