I’ve noticed that a lot of times what Christians call witnessing, is nothing more than a condescending attitude. They will say something trite like, “Well, Jesus loves you anyway and wants to save you.” You can almost see them putting a notch on their belt as if to say, “I’ve done my part,” as they go about their merry way. This type of attitude is not only one of lukewarmness, but it is not love.

Hear the words of one who does not believe in God, yet, speaks the truth:

“I’ve always said, I don’t respect people who don’t proselytise. I don’t respect that at all. If you believe that there’s a heaven and hell and people could be going to hell, or not getting eternal life, whatever, and you think, ‘it’s not really worth telling them this because it would make it socially awkward,’…how much do you have to hate somebody to not  proselytise? How much do you have to hate somebody to believe everlasting life is possible and not tell them that? If I believed beyond a shadow of a doubt that a truck was coming to hit you and you didn’t believe it, that that truck was bearing down on you, there’s a certain point where I tackle you. And this is more than that.”

This atheist, whether he knows it or not, has just given us a great little sermon. I’m not so proud  as to deny truth no matter who it comes from.

needhim:

