I’ve never been much of a morning person. Just ask my family, or an old roomate or my husband. Over the years they would have more than likely said, “Leave her alone in the morning.” “Don’t even ask her to pass the salt.” “She might bite your head off.” They would be correct. Being a night owl at one time, I found mornings the least favorite time of the day.

However, that was then, some years ago. I don’t know if it has something to do with my body aging or not, but I find, all in all I don’t need as much sleep as I once did. I now find myself waking before the break of dawn. I suppose it may be a selfish thing, but I still like to be left pretty much alone until I actually wake up.

I notice the very first thing Dixie and Dolly do when they wake up, is come to me. They know I stop what I am doing to give them their morning lovings. Not only that, but I get morning lovings from them. When I bend down to pet them, they usually go into an instant submissive stance, rolling over, showing me their little bellies, waiting to be rubbed.  All that matters to the three of us, is that moment.

I think God wants us to be like that towards Him — that we desire Him first and above all. The very first thing we are to think of when we wake up is not the cares of the world, but Him. We are to automatically let Him be in our thoughts, desiring to run to Him, loving Him, receiving His love and yes, even rolling over in an act of submission to Him.

Could there be anything wrong with taking time to worship God in the morning? In the stillness of the morning, before the day begins, should not our first words be, “Not my will, but Yours, Oh God?”

During the activities of my day, my dogs will come to me for affection, attention, etc. I don’t always stop what I am doing, but God is always ready to listen, to spend time with us, to make our path straight, if we acknowledge Him.

Be still, and know that I am God;… Psalm 46:10 —

Please, if anyone finds any leaven in the following, please fell free to tell me.

Kekskruemel14:

