Have you ever tried to make yourself fly? As a child, did you ever jump off a high place, open your arms and flap about, hoping the wind would take you away? I did. I never gave it much thought until one morning I had a dream I could fly. I went out before day break, stood on top of the picnic table and jumped. I thought for sure I was going to take off. But, I didn’t. It really surprised me when I hit the ground.

I love the following passage:

Even the youths shall faint and be weary,
And the young men shall utterly fall,
But those who wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint. — Isaiah 40:30,31 —

I’ve heard a few sermons over my life from the above. My favorite one was by Leonard Ravenhill, but I’ve lost it over the years. If any of you know where I can find it, I sure would appreciate it.

I want to share what little — and trust me, it is very little, what I know about the Eagle. Maybe some of you can add your knowledge.

First off, did you know the Eagle is much different than other birds?

An Eagle has great eye sight. He can see his prey a few miles from the earth. It is said he does not eat the dead things. He goes after that which is alive.

An Eagle will not let their offspring hang around forever. They actully push their young out of the nest to teach them to fly. They will push them out and the little eagle can become beaten and cut up from the thorny nest.

Other birds hide when there is a storm brewing. But not the Eagle. Why, he comes out of his nest and flies right into the eye of the storm and lets the wind take him for one heck of a ride!

I have tried to make myself fly over the years. I would wake up and tell myself, “I’m not going to let anything get me down. I’m gonna soar like an eagle today.” After all, those who write books have made it sound so easy. But, I could not. I tried the “positive confession” thingy many years ago. That didn’t work either. All it did was make me feel worse when I could not live up to the latest teaching.

Man’s ways are works of the flesh and are not to be confused with the things of God.

If you notice it says, those who wait upon the Lord, are the ones who will mount up with wings like eagles. Sometimes what we call waiting, is nothing more than being in a passive state. God never calls us to be passive. Nor can we say we are waiting on the Lord while we are still doing our own thing. Sometimes God has to remove us from a situation, change our surroundings, put us in a place dreadfully alone where we can do nothing but fearfully watch all that surrounds us. The last thing we want is to be pushed out of the nest and be thrown in that mess!

We may even become used to the place God has set us. When that happens, all we can do is peek our little Eagle head up every now and then, look over the nest to below, and squawk about the conditions we see. Then we go back to sleep taking a little eagle nap, waiting for something to come along and drop a morsel in our mouth.

But one day without you realizing it…

You learn you are flying! It is not something you did. It is not something you can boast about. You may not even be able to pin point when you got thrown out of the nest. You are able to see the scratches and wounds you received when parent eagle had thrown you out, but the scratches and wounds do not matter. They will heal. You are content to be flying.  You come to realize you have been set free to go after that which is alive!

You see things differently. Those things you once had your eyes on? You still see them, but they no longer cause you to want to take little eagle naps. No longer are you squawking, instead you are having the time of your life, looking at it all in astonishment, knowing that the One who pushed you out of the nest, is right there flying along with you! Your eyesight is much greater now. Your desire is to be free. You desire to fly above the storm. You find it is only things of the Spirit that matter now. Why eat dead things when God is life!

You find you are not trying to hide from the storms. But you are somehow flying right into it! Oh what does it mean!? It means you are seeing the whole picture, not just the things that had you hiding in the nest. You are able to see the majesty of all creation, made by the hands of a Creator who told us some things must come to past. You are no longer surprised, bitter, angry, afraid or anxious of what is to come. You have spread your wings and the Lord is showing you His hand on everything.

Bride of Christ, believe it or not, our strength is being built up for the real battles to come. God desires us to soar. To fly high above all the dead things, seeing that which is alive. HE will bring it to pass.

The things of this world will pass away, but His Word endures forver and ever.

WAIT UPON THE LORD

faiwsu:

