When I first saw this video I asked myself, “Is this for real?” “He’s kidding, right?” Well, apparently not. Looks like there is a 50 day adventure whatever and if you go here http://www.sundaysolutions.com/50-Day-Spiritual-Adventures-s/2017.htm you can spend your money on all kind of what looks like useless sugar coated crap. Ah, just another way to market the Gospel. All by David and Karen Mains. I became familiar with Karen Mains around two decades ago while involved in a Church. People were asked to read a book she had written.  I can not remember which book. My only Church friend and I were reading it and we were saying to one another, “what the heck?” “Jesus appeared to her as little bald headed creepy urchin?” “Sounds more like a little devil to me.” We were taken back by what we were reading. We made our discoveries known, only to be told that the elders should be trusted for discernment and blah blah blah. Because we dared to question, we were rebellious and unteachable. Eventually the leaders came to their senses and saw the falseness in it, but still treated us as if we had some kind of plaque.

If this guy is David Mains and I believe he is, his gospel is not the same gospel I believe in.

“Compliment the culture,” he says. Really? Well, I look around and the culture I see stinks to high heaven and if anyone has a problem with that it is because you are either in that culture and it does not bother you or you are an appeaser.

“The fact that so many people do watch it (Surviver) makes it noteworthy.” No, it doesn’t. It just shows where people have their heads. If I’m not interested in something, I will not waste my time or your time talking about it. If I try to talk about something that does not interest me, (Football, sports, tattoos, the latest movie star, singer, rap star, American Idol, whatever) it is pretense, phony. And believe me, people know the difference. 

“When we learn how to affirm the world they live in, rather than putting it down or judging what we don’t like or what we don’t understand, they will be more inclined to pay attention to what’s on our mind and in our hearts, because we have paid attention to what’s important to them.” Not only does he sound so condescending here, there is nothing, zero, nada, zilch in this world I can find affirming. Once again, for me to pretend would be phony.

I’m not saying never have a conversation with someone or when we talk to others we have to beat them over the head with our beliefs. It is about being real. 

This whole video is as one blogger (Nightmares of Jesus) put it, “How to be a phony for Christ.”

Nowhere in scripture are we taught to affirm the world.

Therefore “Come out from among them
And be separate, says the Lord.
Do not touch what is unclean,
And I will receive you.”

“I will be a Father to you,
And you shall be My sons and daughters,
Says the Lord Almighty.” — 2 Corinthians 6:17,18 —

Do you see anything in there about affirming anything in the world? Me neither.

Honeydew Wilkins:

